By Amir Ansari, RCIC
The PEI PNP issued 1,482 invitations across eleven draws in 2026, and as of the October 16 round, not one went to the business category. Every invitation went to the Labour and Express Entry side, per the PEI Office of Immigration's own draw table. If you are waiting on an entrepreneur invitation, the door has not opened this year.

Why this matters before you submit anything
An Expression of Interest profile is not an application, and PEI says so in plain words on its draws page and on each stream page: an EOI is "not an application, but an indication of your interest in being considered." Profiles expire after six months. So the cost of guessing wrong about which stream you belong in is not a refusal, it is half a year in a pool that was never going to invite you. Two groups are carrying that cost right now: business applicants waiting on a category that issued zero invitations in 2026, and workers in sales and service, who are told on page after page of PEI's own guidance that they "may not receive an invitation to apply at this time." Both facts are published on the PEI Expression of Interest draws page, and neither is something you would learn from a stream description.
How the PEI PNP actually works, in one pass
Prince Edward Island runs its nomination program as a pool, not a queue. You build an EOI profile, the Office of Immigration scores it, and roughly once a month it reaches into the pool and invites the people it wants. There is no first-come advantage and no application fee at the EOI stage.
Think of it the way a hiring manager works through a stack of resumes rather than the way a deli counter works through numbered tickets. Arriving early does not move you up. Being the profile the Office is looking for that month does.
Three things follow from that, and each one surprises people:
Your profile has a shelf life. PEI states that "EOI profiles remain valid in the system for 6 months after submission and may be considered in future draws, subject to program requirements and availability." If an invitation lapses or you withdraw, the Workforce Application Guide says you may submit a new profile immediately, though it carries no promise of another invitation. You cannot be in the pool while you already hold an active application with the Office, or an application in process in another province.
Almost every PEI PNP stream needs a PEI job offer first. The Workforce streams are employer-driven. The employer completes form PEIW-02, and for recruitment from outside Canada the employer must get the Office's authorization before a job offer is even issued.
The money and the clock both arrive after the invitation. There is no fee to sit in the pool. PEI charges a $300 application fee, payable when you submit the Workforce Application Form after being invited, and the guide gives you "up to 30 days from the date of invitation to complete the online application form." The business category charges $10,000, also only on selection.
So if you renewed your profile in April and have heard nothing, which of those three explains it? Usually the second: no PEI employer behind the file.
PEI PNP draws in 2026: the record, and what it says about the schedule
PEI publishes an Anticipated Invitation to Apply Schedule at the start of each year. Here is 2026 as the province actually ran it.
Draw date |
Labour and Express Entry invitations |
Business invitations |
Total |
January 15, 2026 |
26 |
0 |
26 |
February 19, 2026 |
109 |
0 |
109 |
March 20, 2026 |
101 |
0 |
101 |
April 16, 2026 |
127 |
0 |
127 |
May 21, 2026 |
113 |
0 |
113 |
June 18, 2026 |
182 |
0 |
182 |
July 16, 2026 |
195 |
0 |
195 |
August 20, 2026 |
181 |
0 |
181 |
September 17, 2026 |
195 |
0 |
195 |
October 7, 2026 |
90 |
0 |
90 |
October 16, 2026 |
163 |
0 |
163 |
Total 2026 |
1,482 |
0 |
1,482 |
Source: PEI Office of Immigration, Expression of Interest Draws, page modified October 16, 2026. Verified October 2026.
Read that against the published calendar and two things stand out. The anticipated schedule lists a single October date, October 15. PEI actually drew on October 7 and again on October 16. It listed March 19; the draw landed March 20. The schedule is a planning aid, and the province says as much: it "is provided for general informational purposes only" and "does not constitute a guarantee of selection or processing."
The practical reading is simple. Do not time your submission to a published date. PEI's own instruction is to "always ensure your profile is submitted as soon as you meet the requirements of your chosen stream."
The PEI PNP points grid, and the row that scores zero
PEI scores EOI profiles out of 100 across six factors. The grid lives in the PEI Workforce Application Guide dated January 2026, not on the stream pages, which is why most summaries of the PEI PNP never mention it.
Factor |
Maximum points, most streams |
International Graduate stream |
Age |
15 |
25 |
Language |
20 |
20 |
Education |
15 |
35 |
Work experience |
20 |
20 |
Employment |
15 |
20 |
Adaptability |
15 |
20 |
Stated total |
100 |
100 |
Source: PEI Workforce Application Guide, January 2026, Appendix A, published by the PEI Office of Immigration. Verified October 2026.
One honest note on that table before you use it. The guide states that "the maximum points are 100," but the International Graduate column's own factor maximums add up to 140. That is PEI's published arithmetic, not a transcription error at this end, and the guide does not reconcile it. Treat the International Graduate column as showing which factors are weighted more heavily for graduates, which is the real signal, rather than as a score you can total. Ask the Office of Immigration before relying on an International Graduate total.
Two details inside that grid change how you should prepare, and neither is obvious from the totals.
The eligibility floor scores nothing. Most PEI Workforce streams require a minimum of CLB/NCLC 4. On the points grid, CLB/NCLC 4 is worth 0 points. CLB 5 is worth 5, CLB 6 is worth 10, CLB 7 is worth 15, CLB 8 is worth 17, and CLB 9 or 10 is worth the full 20. You can be completely eligible and score zero on a fifth of the grid. Points are assessed on your lowest of the four abilities, so one weak band sets the whole score.
An employer's signature can be worth as much as a near-perfect test. In the Skilled Worker column, the guide lists "Employer signed PEIW-02: Workforce Job Offer Form" at 20 language points, the same value as CLB 9 or 10. Both Skilled Worker streams confirm the two routes sit side by side: the Skilled Workers in PEI and Skilled Workers Outside Canada pages both accept either an IRCC-approved test at CLB/NCLC 4 or the employer confirming proficiency on the PEIW-02. If you are a TEER 0 to 3 candidate with a PEI employer, that form is doing real scoring work, not paperwork, so it is worth making sure your employer completes it rather than leaving the language factor to a weak test result.
Work experience is the other quiet trap: up to two years scores 0, two to four years scores 10, four to six scores 15, and more than six scores 20. Only full-time employment counts.

Two worked EOI scores, same job offer, different people
The following is an illustrative scenario built only from the published grid, not from any particular file. It shows how two candidates with identical job offers land in different places.
Candidate A, age 31, IELTS CLB 6 across all four bands, a three-year bachelor's degree, five years of full-time experience, a PEI job offer related to her education, and one year of continuous full-time work already in PEI. Age 15, language 10, education 12, work experience 15, employment 15 at the factor maximum, adaptability 0. Total: 67.
Candidate B, age 51, same employer, same job, CLB 4, secondary school only, eighteen months of full-time experience, newly arrived. Age 0, language 0, education 10, work experience 0, employment 5. Total: 15 before adaptability.
Same job offer. A fifty-point spread. Candidate B is fully eligible for the stream and is almost certainly never getting invited out of that pool, and nothing on the stream page would tell him so. That gap, between eligible and competitive, is the single most useful thing to understand about the PEI PNP.
Which PEI PNP stream fits you
Stream |
Job offer required |
TEER |
Key additional requirement |
Skilled Workers in PEI |
Yes, full-time non-seasonal |
0 to 3 |
Already employed by a PEI employer on a valid work permit; 2 years full-time experience in the past 5; post-secondary of 2 years or more |
Skilled Workers Outside Canada |
Yes, full-time non-seasonal |
0 to 3 |
Employer authorization from the Office before the EOI; 2 years full-time experience in the past 5; post-secondary of 2 years or more |
Critical Workers |
Yes, full-time non-seasonal |
4 or 5 |
6 months full-time continuous with that PEI employer; valid work permit and status in Canada |
Intermediate Experience |
Yes, full-time non-seasonal |
4 |
6 months full-time Canadian experience gained on an LMIA-based permit |
Occupations in Demand |
Yes, full-time non-seasonal permanent |
8 listed NOC codes |
1 year full-time experience directly related to the offered job |
International Graduates |
Yes, full-time non-seasonal |
Any, language rules differ by TEER |
Graduated from a publicly funded PEI institution; valid PGWP |
PEI Express Entry |
Not stated as mandatory, but prioritised |
0 to 3 via the federal programs |
A federal Express Entry profile in the pool; 9 months with the PEI employer if your PGWP or spousal permit came from outside PEI |
Source: PEI Office of Immigration stream pages, each modified August 5, 2026, linked throughout this article. Verified October 2026. If you are already in PEI on a work permit in a TEER 0 to 3 role, Skilled Workers in PEI is probably your stream, and it is the one most often missed because it sits beside the outside-Canada version with a near-identical name.
The Occupations in Demand list is short and specific: 33102 nurse aides and orderlies, 73300 transport truck drivers, 75110 construction trades helpers, 65310 light duty cleaners, 95109 other labourers in processing and manufacturing, 75101 material handlers, 94140 food and beverage process operators, and 94141 industrial butchers and meat cutters. If your NOC code is not on that list, that stream is not your route, whatever your employer believes.
The employer lock, and why a PEI nomination can block your bridging open work permit
This is the part that costs people the most, and no PEI page explains it.
Most PEI PNP streams tie you to one named employer. The Critical Workers page is explicit that after nomination you work for that one employer until you receive permanent residence, and Skilled Workers in PEI says the same. Most applicants then assume a bridging open work permit will carry them through the federal wait, because that is the normal answer for someone with a PR application in progress.
It may not. IRCC's bridging open work permit instruction says provincial nominees are eligible for a BOWP "only if they provided with their application a copy of the nomination letter issued by the nominating province or territory that indicates their employment is unrestricted." It continues: "If employment restrictions are imposed, IRCC does not issue an open work permit to the foreign national under the BOWP LMIA exemption." The parallel instruction for the T13 provincial-nominee work permit puts the same rule the other way round: "Where the nomination letter issued by the province indicates that the employment is restricted to a specific employer, the nominee is not eligible to apply for a bridging open work permit. They are allowed to apply for another employer-specific work permit if eligible."
Here is the part that decides your case, and it is the reason to read the letter rather than guess from the stream. IRCC has given every province a nomination template letter with a "Restrictions on employment" field, and provinces are instructed to answer Yes or No in it. Crucially, the instruction states that provinces "may include an employer or the name of the occupation and the National Occupational Classification (NOC) code and still indicate that there are no employment restrictions. In these cases, applicants are eligible for an open work permit." So an employer-driven stream does not automatically cost you the bridging permit. The Yes or No in that one field does. IRCC also tells officers that a separate letter confirming no restrictions "should not be requested," so the template field is the whole evidence.
Ansari Immigration treats the restrictions field in a provincial nomination letter as the most consequential line in the whole file, because it is the line that decides whether you can change jobs for the next year or more. Both rules sit on the bridging open work permit instruction, modified July 30, 2025, and the T13 instruction for foreign nationals nominated by a province.
The same instruction sets out what the province must certify before IRCC will issue that permit. The province has to state that you are "urgently required" by the employer, that the job offer "is genuine and will create economic benefits or opportunities," that the employment "is not part-time or seasonal," and that the wages and conditions "would be sufficient to attract and retain Canadian citizens or permanent residents." That last one is a prevailing-wage test sitting inside an LMIA exemption. The permit itself is capped at three years or passport expiry, whichever is earlier, and carries conditions restricting location, employer and occupation. Full detail on how these differ sits in our guide to the types of work permits in Canada.
One more line from that page is worth knowing because it saves an argument: "Officers should not request the nomination certificate as provincial nominees are not issued a copy." If someone asks you for your certificate, they are asking for a document that does not exist.
Has your employer told you the nomination makes you free to move? Tell us what you were told, in general terms, in the comments. The gap between what employers say and what the instruction says is wide, and worth mapping.

Is your PEI file about to hit one of these walls?
Three signs it is worth a professional read before you submit: your nomination letter names an employer and nobody has shown you what its restrictions-on-employment field actually says; your occupation is sales or service and nobody has explained the current exclusion to you; or you are sitting in the EOI pool for a sixth month with no invitation and no idea which factor is holding you back. Ansari Immigration will tell you plainly if there is nothing to fix, which is the honest answer in plenty of cases.
Book a consultation ($80, 30 min)
After the nomination: the federal half nobody explains
A nomination is a provincial decision. Permanent residence is a federal one, and the two are assessed against different rules.
IRCC's own officer instructions say the department "will not assess 'intent to reside' or 'economic establishment' factors" once a province has nominated you, because amendments effective March 30, 2026 put that assessment on the province. What IRCC does check is narrower and sharper: that your identity holds up, that a valid nomination certificate is on file, and critically "that the certificate was not expired at the time IRCC received the permanent residence application." That rule is on the provincial nominees program delivery instruction, modified April 17, 2026. PEI states the same deadline from the other end: its Workforce Application Guide tells nominees "you must submit your application for Permanent Residency within six months of receiving your nomination certificate." Read together, the six months is not a soft target. It is the window in which your certificate still works.
Then there is the door you walked through, which decides how long you wait.
Route |
IRCC estimated processing time |
People waiting for a decision |
Provincial nominees, via Express Entry |
About 7 months |
About 13,100 |
Provincial nominees, not via Express Entry |
About 13 months |
About 96,500 |
Atlantic Immigration Program |
About 26 months |
About 11,500 |
Source: IRCC processing times tool, figures last updated October 9, 2026. Verified October 2026. These are estimates, not guarantees, and IRCC updates them monthly.
Nineteen months separate the fastest and slowest PEI route to the same status. If you qualify for a federal economic program, the PEI Express Entry stream is worth real effort, and our guide to the Canada Express Entry system explains the federal half.
A last warning, from a real case. In [Kavarizadeh v Canada (Citizenship and Immigration)](https://decisions.fct-cf.ca/fc-cf/decisions/en/item/531399/index.do), 2026 FC 1133, decided September 9, 2026, two spouses had applied under the Provincial Nominee class in June 2022, and by the hearing their file had been in security screening for 952 days. The Federal Court granted mandamus and ordered IRCC to decide within 90 days, holding at paragraph 55 that the Court expects explanations for delay "at least in general terms that can be publicly disclosed." Processing estimates describe the middle of the distribution. They do not describe your file.
Where PEI's own guidance goes quiet
Three gaps are worth naming, because knowing a thing is unpublished is itself useful.
PEI publishes no cut-off score for its labour draws. The draws table has a minimum-points-threshold column, and it is populated only for business rounds, of which there were none in 2026. The Workforce Application Guide sets no minimum either; it says only that "priority is given to those who demonstrate the greatest potential to become economically established in PEI." British Columbia and Ontario publish cut-offs. PEI does not, so any "minimum score for the PEI PNP" you find quoted elsewhere is somebody's estimate, not a published figure.
The points can change without warning. The guide states that the Office "reserves the right to change selection criteria and points at any time without notice." Treat a score you calculated last year as stale.
The business category's status is undeclared. Zero invitations across eleven rounds is a fact. "The business stream is closed" is not something PEI has said, and we are not saying it either. The difficulty is that you cannot check it: the Work Permit Stream page was last modified in June 2025 and states no intake status at all. Before committing to the $600,000 net-worth route, ask the Office of Immigration directly rather than reading the silence either way.
Nationally, the context is a Provincial Nominee Program target of 91,500 admissions for 2026 within an overall plan of 380,000 permanent residents, per the 2026 to 2028 Immigration Levels Plan tabled with the Commons immigration committee. PEI's own pages note that provincial pathways are "dependent upon federal immigration allocations, application volumes" and provincial labour market needs.
What to do this month
Confirm your occupation is not in sales and service, which PEI currently flags as unlikely to be invited
Check your NOC against the specific stream's TEER band before choosing a stream
Score yourself honestly against the six factors, using your lowest language band
If you are TEER 0 to 3 with a PEI employer, ask whether the PEIW-02 language route applies to you
Read your nomination letter, if you have one, for the restrictions-on-employment field, which decides whether a bridging open work permit is available to you
Diarise two deadlines if you are invited: 30 days to complete the application form, and six months from the nomination certificate to file for permanent residence
Check whether you also qualify for a federal economic program, which cuts the federal wait from about 13 months to about 7
Submit as soon as you meet the requirements rather than waiting for a published draw date

Frequently asked questions about the PEI PNP
Is the PEI PNP open?
The PEI PNP labour streams are actively drawing, with eleven rounds and 1,482 invitations issued in 2026 through October 16, while the business category received zero invitations in every one of those rounds. PEI has not published a closure notice for the business category, so confirm current intake on the Office of Immigration's own pages before applying.
What is the minimum score for the PEI PNP?
Prince Edward Island does not publish a minimum points threshold or cut-off score for its labour draws, and the Workforce Application Guide sets none, so any specific number quoted elsewhere is an estimate rather than an official figure. The only published minimums are eligibility requirements, such as a language score of CLB/NCLC 4.
How to apply for the PEI PNP?
You apply in two stages: first you submit an Expression of Interest profile, which is not an application and stays valid for six months, and only if the Office of Immigration invites you do you submit a full application and pay the $300 application fee. The guide then gives you up to 30 days from the date of invitation to complete the online application form, and almost every Workforce stream requires a full-time, non-seasonal job offer from a PEI employer before any of this starts.
What is the PEI PNP draw schedule for 2026?
PEI publishes an Anticipated Invitation to Apply Schedule listing one target date per month, but the province states it is for general information only and does not guarantee selection, and 2026 has already departed from it twice, with two October draws on the 7th and the 16th. Submit when you meet the requirements rather than timing a published date.
Do I need a job offer for the PEI PNP?
Yes for every Workforce stream, where the offer must be full-time, non-seasonal and either permanent or at least two years long, with the employer completing form PEIW-02. The PEI Express Entry stream does not state a job offer as mandatory, but PEI says it prioritises candidates already working and living in the province for an eligible PEI employer.
Can I get an open work permit after a PEI nomination?
Not if your nomination letter imposes employment restrictions, because IRCC issues a bridging open work permit to a provincial nominee only where the letter indicates the employment is unrestricted. What decides it is the restrictions-on-employment field in the nomination template letter, not the stream you came through, since a province may name an employer and still record no employment restrictions.
How long does PEI PNP permanent residence take?
IRCC estimated about 7 months for provincial nominees applying via Express Entry and about 13 months for those not using Express Entry, as of figures last updated October 9, 2026, with roughly 13,100 and 96,500 people waiting respectively. These are estimates that IRCC revises monthly and they are not a maximum or a guarantee.
Does a PEI nomination guarantee permanent residence?
No, because a nomination is a provincial decision and permanent residence remains a federal one, with IRCC separately verifying identity, admissibility and that your nomination certificate had not expired when it received your application. IRCC does not reassess the province's findings on intent to reside or economic establishment, but it can and does refuse on its own grounds.
Why work with Ansari Immigration
Flat CAD $4,000 total for Express Entry plus provincial nomination representation, quoted upfront with government fees shown separately. Every file is handled personally by the firm's licensed RCIC, regulated by CICC, with all forms, IRCC correspondence and webforms included and a reply within one business day. Document-expiry reminders continue even after your file closes.
If you went through a PEI draw this year, which stage actually slowed you down, finding the employer or waiting in the pool? Tell us in the comments, keeping it general, and for advice on your own situation a consultation is the right place.
Book a consultation ($80, 30 min)
Related Posts
Easiest Province to Get PR in Canada: What Actually Makes One Easier (2026): How to compare provincial nominee programs on the factors that decide your odds rather than on marketing claims.
SINP Streams in 2026: Which Ones Are Actually Open, and Which One Fits You: The same stream-by-stream treatment for Saskatchewan, including which intakes are genuinely accepting applications.
Bridging Open Work Permit (BOWP): Who Qualifies and How to Apply in Canada (2026): The general bridging rules, and why a restricted provincial nomination letter closes this route while an unrestricted one keeps it open.
Express Entry Language Requirements 2026: Minimum CLB by Program: What CLB level each federal program needs, which matters if you are weighing the PEI Express Entry route.
This article is for general information only. It is not legal advice. Program criteria, requirements, processing times, and selection approaches can change without notice. Always confirm details on official government websites or consult a licensed Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultant (RCIC) for advice specific to your situation.
